The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 5 February 2013, 05:42 AM   #1
Tudor66
"TRF" Member

Watch: GMT- Pepsi
Submariner 16800 and 1680 comparison

This is a write up on my experience owning both the Rolex Submariner 1680 and the Rolex Submariner 16800 stainless steel sport watches.

I am still relatively new to the Rolex watch world. I am not selling these watches, just opening up a discussion about what I think about them. And yes, I still own both of these:

Rolex Submariner (16800)
I've had this (1984 year) watch for just over two years, and it was my first Rolex purchase. It came fully serviced, and it keeps 1 second per day accuracy….!

What I like:

The clarity of the black dial really shows against the sapphire crystal, which has been scratch free. The watch has a slightly heavier feel than the older 1680. The 16800 came with either a matte dial or not matte dial with the white gold surrounding the luminova dots. I have owned both dial versions, and I actually prefer the more modern one with white gold surrounds on the dial.

The movement has the quickset date, which is the only complication- what else do you need in a classic diving watch! Of all the watches I have worn in the last 3 years, this 16800 with the white gold surrounds has received the most compliments from personal friends and family-- several family members have asked me to loan this watch to them…!

The bezel insert clicks and spins around the dial with the sounds and feel of a very well designed mechanical piece. It has the vintage looking date wheel with the open 6's and open 9's- just another nice touch. The dial and case closely resemble the newer 16610 watch, most people wouldn't know that this is a 1984 watch.