The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 2 September 2024, 05:45 AM   #1
Daniel_DXB
"TRF" Member

Undated Warranty Rolex Paper Concern

Hello everyone.
I am looking to buy my first Rolex timepiece, and I have been eyeing the Rolex Explorer for some time now. I am not an expert at authenticating watches, so when spending a good chunk of my money on something, I try my best to do my due diligence wherever possible. I came across a nice deal online for a Y serial 114270 Mk1 Explorer 36mm with the full set.
Today, I paid the watch dealer that's selling the watch a visit, mainly to know more about the company and also to view the watch and take some pictures for further research. I must admit, the moment I put the watch on my wrist, I fell in love with it. The watch in itself is in excellent condition, however I have one concern that perhaps some of you reading this thread could help me out with.
Although on the bright side, the serial number and model number of the watch on both the warranty paper and tag matches to that on the time piece, I have noted that the warranty paper is undated, and does not have the original buyer’s details included, although the name of the Rolex AD is present on the warranty paper. I’m a layman when it comes to authenticating watches, however wouldn’t this raise a concern to the validity of the warranty (even though the watch is a 2002 model, hence it not being under warranty anymore), and would this affect the value of the watch?
Any opinions from experts on this matter would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
Daniel_DXB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2 September 2024, 08:20 AM   #2
MDR143
"TRF" Member

Watch: 126710 BLNR
My opinion is to buy new. That’s not a terribly difficult watch to get. Visit a lots of ADs and you should have it within a year.