The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 11 March 2007, 07:45 AM   #1
pcarson

Watch: 16610 Sub Date
Watch-friendly activities.

This might not be the right place so feel free to re-direct me. First let me say I'm a Rolex Newbie, so I am naiive about lots of things. I recently bought a new DateSub (which I'm really enjoying) and this week someone told me not to wear it while riding my bike on a bumpy road.

This was a guy with a pretty big collection, so I thought he might have a point. The thing is, I bought this particular watch for the Robust 3135 and because I dive. I'm a wearer, not a collector, so I've worn it for my morning rides which involve hauling up a hill, then screaming down and it is bumpy going down because the road is dodgy and it's fun to go fast. It's a rattly ride. I wouldn't have thought you had to nurse a Rolex, especially with this movement so can anyone tell me if there's any value to this? I really hadn't planned to show this watch such tender mercies.
pcarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2007, 07:48 AM   #2
Prince
"TRF" Member

Watch: Daytona/Sub/GMT/DJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcarson View Post
...this week someone told me not to wear it while riding my bike on a bumpy road...
That's the silliest thing I've ever heard!

If anything, the bike riding will keep the watch wound even better. It is a "perpetual" - it winds itself by the MOTION of your wrist, arm and body. Just ignore that advice. You have come to the right place for proper advice, Peter. The members here are crackerjack!!!
Old 11 March 2007, 07:55 AM   #3
pcarson