The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 11 July 2007, 11:22 AM   #1
USMCsilver
"TRF" Member

Watch: Anniv. GMT II
Icon2 Explain This Shipping/No Tax Thing...

Okay, wife and I are lost...

I buy a watch at my AD which is a fairly large chain store. This is in South Carolina. Then, I ship it out of state to not pay sales tax. Then, that person ships to me.

Say, I drive to North Carolina. If I were to buy a watch there, in person, would I have to pay sales tax if I wanted to take the watch home? I mean, I'm not a NC resident, I'm a SC resident. It does not make sense.

Could I go to, say, Walmart, and buy a something, then have it shipped to a state w/out a Walmart, and not pay sales tax?

Again, we're lost on this.

I am considering driving to Charlotte, NC this weekend to get a watch, but I'd rather take it home and not pay tax (obviously).
USMCsilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 July 2007, 11:30 AM   #2
Robb
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: BLNR
I just bought a new sub LV in Atlanta this weekend. I live in GA but have a friend just over the state line in TN. The AD I bought it from does not have a location in TN so I got away without paying the sales tax.

Check with the AD first, some of them will not do this.
Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 July 2007, 11:32 AM   #3
Launch Mini
"TRF" Member

Watch: can I?
Taxation is based on the honour system.
When a business sells a product, they are required to collect the state tax, IF THE product is delivered in that state.
Where they ship the product to a customer outside the state ( and they do not have a location in the shipped to state) they business is not required to collect the tax.
HOWEVER, the individual is supposed to pay the state tax when they purchase goods without the tax or import a product into the state.