The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 4 January 2023, 08:00 AM   #1
Gopher1
2024 Pledge Member

Explorer II 1655 Questions: Looking to Buy

Introduction
I am new to RF and researching my first potential Rolex addition to my vintage collection: A 1655. I have been tracking and reading all I can and have developed a decent understanding of the various Marks between dials, bezels, bracelets/links, but am looking for all experts to advise me. I am finally ready to consider a purchase but will appreciate additional guidance for those of you with real Rolex experience.

The Watch
Here is an early Mark I (serial 2,7xx,xxx) I have a chance to purchase. My understanding is this from 1971 and should have a MK1 dial and bezel.

Bezel
This bezel is clearly a replacement, correct for the 1655 in general but not a MK1. To my eyes it is a MK3 but could be a MK2 (I always find them tough to distinguish). Am I correct?

How much of an effect does this bezel swap have on valuation and collectability?

Dial/Lume
The lume is missing completely from the 23:00 hour marker. Strangely, the rest of the dial looks quite good to my eyes for a 52-year-old piece. Who knows what might have caused this. I do not see any signs of other damage like water intrusion. Maybe the lume was damaged during a service and they decided to remove it all? Maybe it started disintegrating, so they removed it all?

Aside from the aesthetic impact, how much of a hit on value would you place on this lume loss? Should I pass?

Bracelet/Links
It comes with the original 7836/580 bracelet/links plus a modern (2010) 78360 because the original bracelet is "rough," I am told.

Hands
Look correct to me but note the faded 24-hour hand and lume disintegration starting in the Minute hand.

Case