The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 9 May 2020, 05:41 PM   #1
number-six
"TRF" Member

GMT Master 1675/0 Identification?

Hi,
Just joined and I have a GMT Master 'Pepsi' that I bought from a fellow musician around 1979/80. I thought some of you may like to show off your knowledge and expertise of these fine machines and help me find out more about it. I moved to Australia shortly after buying it and it's been in the ocean a few times. The red on the bezel has faded but not the blue. I've worn it most days since I've had it and would be lost without it.

It was serviced by Rolex in 1993, 2007 and 2011 with a UK watchmaker in 2014. One of those visits was to get it certified for insurance purposes.
Rolex printed "1675/0" on the card with a serial# of 4,4nn,nnn.

From what I can gather it may have had a few changed parts before I bought it.
The case needed work to certify waterproof to the regulation depth, perhaps a new case 'inner'. I don't have photos of the mechanism but Rolex told me it was "like new" in 1993.

There are a few things that make me wonder.
The ‘E’ in Rolex is long, as in all 3 bars are equal length unlike later models.
Also, the hyphen between 'GMT -Master' is almost attached to the ‘M’ and not equidistant to the 'T'.
The lume dots are very close to the 'track'. And any 'rings' around the lume dots are from the camera, it has no dot surrounds.

Can anyone shed some light please?
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg BE785B9C-E583-444E-A39C-49D08D7B23D1.jpeg (266.7 KB, 494 views)
number-six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 May 2020, 09:05 PM   #2
Styles Bitchley
"TRF" Member

Watch: 1680