The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 1 April 2010, 07:14 PM   #1
VaDave
"TRF" Member

Watch: DRSD:1665 Sub:5512
Icon7 Golfing while wearing a Rolex……..You Can and Should!

There’s been a number of threads recently about playing golf and wearing a Rolex. I’ve been doing just that for a few years now, making a very nice living at it, and thought it was time to tell you my story and perhaps put this thread to bed once and for all.

Golf is a game of finesse and power. The smallest changes can make a big difference, but you have to have the right technique. I discovered that wearing a Rolex, bracelet tight and low on the wrist, makes a remarkable difference in your swing. A large watch – and particularly a big crown – will keep your wrist from pronation, thus assuring your arms and club act as one smooth lever. The extra weight of the watch can add yards to your drives and helps with the follow-through on those tough approach shots. Care must be taken to keep the center-of-gravity exactly in plane with your swing or you’ll shank. You can, with practice, develop an amazing hook or draw by ever-so-slightly twisting your wrist to off-set the c.g. of the watch – but don’t try this at first for it takes practice to perfect.

Of course different watches are needed for different clubs.

My line up goes like this:

Driver: DeepSea - What else? The weight of this beast adds 20 yards.

3 Wood: YG Yacht-Master II. Helps you keep this shot to under 10 minutes.

1 Iron: SS/Pt. YM 16622. This notoriously difficult to control club is gentle as a lamb with this watch. Naturally I call mine “The JJ” for this reason.

3 Iron: Pepsi GMT. Goes the distance.

4 Iron: Coke GMT. Almost as good as the Pepsi.

5 Iron: WG Sub. Gets you over the water, sometimes you can walk on water with this watch.