The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 10 May 2014, 04:18 PM   #1
Ray Sub

Buying my first vintage Rolex. Couple questions

I currently own and daily wear a 2008 no date sub. Ive been keeping my eyes out for a mint 1985 (my birth year) submariner and stumbled across one.

My questions:

Store is asking 5,295 for it. I think it's somewhat a fair price but wanted more professional opinions.

More importantly.. Will i be able to also daily wear it and take it through its paces like my 2008. Working out at the gym, hot tub, steam room etc. Those are my concerns.

Thanks so much
Ray Sub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2014, 04:21 PM   #2
Old Expat Beast
TRF Moderator & 2024 SUBMARINER Patron

Watch: SEIKO TUNA
Pics please. 5513? I would avoid saunas and steam rooms with an acrylic dome sub, but at least get it pressure tested/serviced.
Old Expat Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 May 2014, 04:29 PM   #3
Ray Sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Expat Beast View Post
Pics please. 5513? I would avoid saunas and steam rooms with an acrylic dome sub, but at least get it pressure tested/serviced.
http://www.bobswatches.com/vintage-r...lack-5513.html

Here is the link. I also bought my 2008 used from here so it just seemed more convenient since I am new to the forum
Old 10 May 2014, 04:30 PM   #4
R.W.T.
"TRF" Member

Why do you think that a 1985 acrylic sub (provided that is indeed what he is talking about...he may not mean another non date at all..he may be thinking 16800) is more prone to moisture intrusion in a sauna than a sapphire?

Same gasket under the crystal retainer, same crown and tube gaskets, same back gaskets.

With a standard service and a water test I can see no reason that would be any more susceptible to moisture intrusion in a sauna or hot tub than a 14060m.