The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 27 June 2008, 06:20 AM   #1
tom33455
"TRF" Member

Watch: 16750
Seeking sage advice on a vintage 16750?

Greetings to all. I am new to this wonderful site and now find I am spending entirely too much time reading, browsing and researching. I've been a long time Rolex owner (Bought my first one - a 1680 (vintage 1967) after seeing James Bond and his "cool watch" in a movie.

Anyway, my dilemma. I have a 1980 GMT Master 16750 that I've also owned since new and recently sent it to RSC for a service estimate. They've recommended replacing the dial and hour and second hands because the "luminesence" shows some "cracking". The Pepsi bezel is also faded and they recommend replacement.

Any opinions on the impact to the value if I replace these components as recommended? Thanks very much!
tom33455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 June 2008, 06:25 AM   #2
redshirt1957
"TRF" Member

Watch: Blue YM today!
QUOTE=tom33455;644384]Greetings to all. I am new to this wonderful site and now find I am spending entirely too much time reading, browsing and researching. I've been a long time Rolex owner (Bought my first one - a 1680 (vintage 1967) after seeing James Bond and his "cool watch" in a movie.

Anyway, my dilemma. I have a 1980 GMT Master 16750 that I've also owned since new and recently sent it to RSC for a service estimate. They've recommended replacing the dial and hour and second hands because the "luminesence" shows some "cracking". The Pepsi bezel is also faded and they recommend replacement.

Any opinions on the impact to the value if I replace these components as recommended? Thanks very much![/QUOTE]