The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 7 July 2021, 07:26 AM   #1
lilokito
"TRF" Member

Watch: GMT II BLNR
Birth Year watch suggestion

I'm looking into getting a birth year watch. since i'm a total noob with vintage pieces, i'm gonna look for suggestions on sport models on my birth year (1985).

anything special with the dials or done in a small production? any input would be great.

Here are the following models i saw for that year:

1016 Explorer
16550 Explorer II
5513 Submariner
16750 GMT
6263 Daytona
lilokito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 July 2021, 07:49 AM   #2
AF_Rob
"TRF" Member

Watch: Sub/Polar/OP/BB
Good luck on your search, OP! If you have the pockets for a special piece, why not.

Being a vintage noob, it can be a minefield. I’d go vanilla with a birth year DJ. That’s just me. I have a lack of deep pockets for vintage watches.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
AF_Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 July 2021, 12:16 PM   #3
lilokito
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by AF_Rob View Post
Good luck on your search, OP! If you have the pockets for a special piece, why not.

Being a vintage noob, it can be a minefield. I’d go vanilla with a birth year DJ. That’s just me. I have a lack of deep pockets for vintage watches.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
the daytona is definitely out due to price range. the dj is always an option.
Old 7 July 2021, 12:40 PM   #4
hutch300
2024 Pledge Member

If you don't have a preference and its about year I'd just buy a speedy.
hutch300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 July 2021, 12:48 PM   #5
csaltphoto
"TRF" Member

Watch: sub
The vintage world can be a minefield. I'd suggest starting a dialogue with Jacek at Tropical watch.
csaltphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7 July 2021, 12:57 PM   #6
stmoore
Banned

Watch: Gilt