The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 16 July 2024, 06:25 AM   #1
CHRONOLEX
2024 Pledge Member

Thin collection to simplify life?

Hi all-

I have been collecting primarily Rolex for 30+ years and have been fortunate to own some very special pieces. However, about 2 years ago when it felt like I was buying somewhat indiscriminately (presumably because I was still swept up in post-Covid craziness) I did what I once thought unthinkable - bought a SS Sub Date - because it was too "plain" and "commonplace." Since then, it has become my favorite go-to watch, especially when I'm having a hard or frustrating day, because the watch literally needs no fussiness or special care and is extremely reliable. Has a date (unlike my Daytonas), lightweight (unlike my PMs), brushed bracelet minimizes scratches, travels incredibly well, goes with any clothing, easy to clean (unlike OF with the underside fins), is generally not too flashy, and is for-sure my nomination for best GADA watch.

With that said, I've been toying with the idea of selling most (or all?) of my watches and just dropping down to this Sub, with the goal of simplifying my life and headspace. In the same vein, I've been thinking about selling most of my cars too except for maybe a single SUV and a sports car, because the flashiness and worry about scratches, etc. just isn't fun anymore. Right now I'm valuing practicality, safety and simplicity.